Skip to main content

Why we notify members upon importing information

Find out why we email members after they've been imported.

Written by Meredith Owens

When an administrator chooses to import members into their website, we automatically create a fully functional account for those members. By nature, these accounts include personal information such as names, contact information, and addresses.

We also offer many tools that allow members to interact with one another and learn who else is in their community, like the "Resident directory," "Board members," and "Forum" page types. As a result, members with registered accounts will likely be able to see certain information about other members with accounts. This is beneficial for building a stronger sense of community! 

Even still, we care deeply about privacy and take many measures to protect it. Importing members into a website automatically creates an account for them without them voluntarily signing up for the account themselves. Therefore, if they were not to know about this new account, they could be completely unaware that their personal information was now available to other members online.

Luckily, we offer detailed control over privacy preferences for both member profiles and accounts, so they can tailor their settings appropriately. However, in order for members to adjust these privacy preferences, they need to know that these settings are available and that their account exists in the first place. For these reasons, we automatically notify newly imported members that an account has been created for them.

We understand that there are certain situations that may initially seem best to skip notifying members, but in the interest of protecting their privacy, we cannot bypass this functionality in any case.

Did this answer your question?